Mothers rock.

Behind the White Coat

IMG_3934

Early in my career, a mom pulled me aside during a well child visit for her eldest son to ask me an important question.

“Doc, I am pregnant…” She was. “The baby I am carrying has been diagnosed with Trisomy 13.” She paused for effect, searching my face. “He has severe malformations and is not expected to live more than a few hours. We made the decision to not abort when we found out. I want to deliver at the hospital here, but I need a physician who will be the baby’s doctor who will understand and respect our wishes. We do not want aggressive life saving measures. We want to be able to love him and hold him until God takes him from us. I have seen how you interact with my other sons and I thought maybe you might be the one.”

In shock, I quickly agreed. I…

View original post 338 more words

