Behind the White Coat

When I interviewed for my first job after residency, I was quizzed very pointedly about my religious proclivities. There was a prominent prayer before the meals (interviews took part in two stages and involved several days of activities) asking for God’s direction on whether or not to hire me. At one point, I was asked to say a blessing for everyone. This did not bother me particularly at the time. I just wanted a job.

I was raised in a “Christian” home growing up and had my theology down pat. I felt fairly at home in this kind of environment and knew I could “properly” answer any question they posed. Except for one thing: What my role was as a Christian woman who was working full time as a physician.

Growing up I was taught that as a female I was not as loved by God as much as a…

View original post 1,036 more words

